¡Dulce Dulce!

I live for Krispy Kreme doughnuts. I’ve defended Krispy Kreme doughnuts. Anytime someone has tried to rant about how amazing Dunkin’ Donuts is, I’ve had to say, “Uhhh excuse me, Dunkin’s got nothin’ on Krispy Kreme.” They just taste lighter and yummier and just…I don’t know, they’re just better. I’ll always be team Krispy Kreme but when I’m in Washington D.C. I’ll have to cheat a little. There seems to be a trend of making the doughnut experience luxurious and I’m loving it!

20150905_110052

We’re all used to the usual glazed, sprinkled, and cake doughnuts. They’ll always have a special place in our hearts. But sometimes we need to spice it up with something a little different.  Enter GBD. What does that stand for you ask? GOLDEN BROWN DELICIOUS. Doesn’t that name just give you chills? I came across this gem on Instagram while searching for the best D.C. eateries. When I walked into GBD I felt so overwhelmed, but in a good way! There were so many enticing choices it was hard for me to pick! I mean, they have doughnuts with bacon on top people. Bacon! And they don’t just have doughnuts. They have fried chicken. Yes I said fried chicken. Fried chicken and doughnuts seems to be a thing now. I don’t know why and I don’t care. It’s a beautiful thing.  I finally had to ask the cashier what her favorites were. She told me that the Dulce de Leche was absolutely heavenly.

Honey let me tell you that was the best doughnut I’ve had in my 22 years on this earth. The texture resembles a sour creme doughnut so it’s got a nice crunch on the outside. And the inside… soft, moist, melt in your mouth deliciousness. Somehow the inside even tasted creamy. How did they do it?! The top is finished off with a generous layer of coconut flakes. Now I’d like to go on the record and say that I absolutely DESPISE coconut. With a burning passion. I like the flavor of it but the texture just irks me. I’m weird like that. But I have to say I actually loved the coconut on top! It just worked.

20150905_110221

I loved the look and atmosphere of the restaurant itself. It was modern meets rustic if you can picture that.

I think this would be a nice alternative to the typical chaotic coffee shop. It was such a relaxed environment. Should my dreams come true and I get to live in D.C. I can definitely see myself becoming a morning regular here. Well not too much of a regular!

20150905_110248

I’m sorry Krispy Kreme! I still love you!

Until next time food lovers!

*Just a note, as I finished this post I realized that GBD has temporarily closed. But don’t worry! They are currently undergoing a transformation and they’ll be back better than ever. I’ll keep you posted!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Hi there! Very nice blog. Really enjoy your writing and photos are very inviting! I am now a ‘follower’ and thanks for the ‘like’ of my recent post.
    Sandra
    http://www.lowcountryfelicitylife.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Crecynthia says:

      Hi Sandra! Thank you so much for the kind words!

      Like

Leave a Reply

