A Little Queijo in Rio!

♫ Lemme take you to Rio Rio! ♫ But seriously can we go? Pleeeaseeee?

Alright so we can’t actually go to Rio. (Sigh) I can dream. But how about bringing a little taste of Brazil into your home? Sound good? Today I present to you a fantastic recipe for Pao de Queijo which is Brazilian Cheese Bread. My mom and I made these for our girl’s night in and it was actually really simple. Yes guys, I didn’t fail. There’s hope for me. Today our star ingredient is… drumroll please… Tapioca flour! Have you guys heard of this? Am I the only one that didn’t know that it was a thing? Alrighty good people, let’s get to it!

Pao de Queijo (Brazilian Cheese Bread)

1 egg

1/4 cup oil

1/2 cup milk

1 cup Tapioca flour

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 cup shredded cheddar or mozzarella cheese

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Blend all ingredients in a blender except the cheese!! Blend cheese in at the end. Pour batter into mini muffin tins and bake for 15 mins.

*Just a tip: I noticed that when we used brand name cheese, it sunk to the bottom of the bread. But when we used cheese that came from Sprouts (a healthy grocery store) the cheese was finer, floated in the batter, and was evenly distributed throughout the bread when it was done cooking. So consider going to your local farmers market or a store like Trader Joe’s.

IMG_20160425_095229
Ta Daaaa 🙂

 

Aren’t they cute? They taste even better than they look! Nice and crunchy and cheesy on the outside and somehow delightfully airy yet flavorful on the inside. Imagine a cheesy crunchy coating around a cloud. Then you bite into the cloud and there’s what… more cheese inside! Was that a weird image? That sounded a lot better in my head. Go ahead and try making these yourself! Maybe then my weird description will make more sense. Or not.

Do you have any simple Brazilian recipes that I could try? Comment below!

Happy Sunday! Until next time food lovers!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Hi I’m Brazilian and your pao de queijo looks awesome! I also have a recipe on my blog, if you to try it someday! Have a great day! 😊☀️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Crecynthia says:

      Thank you so much for the compliment Fabi! I’ll definitely make my way over to your website and check out your recipe 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

